As a reminder, the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet (KYTC) and the Indiana Department of Transportation (INDOT) have scheduled joint Ohio River bridge inspections over three days starting on Monday, September 12, 2016.

Work zone lane restrictions are planned at the following dates and times to facilitate the annual walk-through inspections:

September 12

  • US 41 Twin Bridges Southbound at Henderson 10:30 a.m.-Noon
  • US 41 Twin Bridges Northbound at Henderson 1:00 p.m.-2:30 p.m.

September 13

  • US 231 William Natcher Ohio River Bridge at Owensboro 8:00 a.m.-10:30 a.m.
  • KY 2262/Indiana State Route 161 Ohio River “Blue” Bridge at Owensboro 1:00 p.m.-2:30 p.m.

September 14

  • KY 69-Indiana State Route 237 Ohio River “Bob Cummings-Lincoln Trail” Bridge at Hawesville 8:30 a.m.-10:30 a.m.
  • Each inspection is expected to take about two to three hours to complete.  All times are approximate.  Dates and times are subject to change due to weather conditions and other factors.
  • Motorists should use appropriate caution where equipment, flaggers, and inspection personnel are along the roadway in close proximity to traffic flow.
  • All bridges get a detailed inspection every two years.  All long-span river and lake bridges in Kentucky get an additional walk-through inspection yearly.  Bridge inspectors and engineers from KYTC and INDOT use these joint walk-through inspections to discuss and plan future maintenance projects on the various bridges.
  • KYTC and INDOT are planning a joint maintenance project along US 41 starting in May of 2017.  The project includes work on the overflow bridges between the US 41 Twin Bridges and the I-69 Interchange south of Evansville, as well and a new driving surface for the southbound deck of the US 41 Twin Bridges.
  • Timely traffic advisories for the 11 counties of KYTC Highway District 2 are available by going to You do not have to be a Facebook member to access this page.
  • Navigate traffic with KYTC,, and Waze,

Keith Todd
Public Information Officer
District One & Two
Kentucky Transportation Cabinet