Residents in eight Kentucky counties will lose their food stamp benefits for not complying with federal work and training programs. Daviess and Henderson counties are among those listed.

Kentucky and dozens of other states received a statewide waiver from 2008-2015 from the federal requirements. As the economy recovers, the waiver will no longer cover residents in Bullitt, Hardin, Jefferson, Fayette, Daviess, Henderson, McCracken, and Warren counties. These counties include some of the state's most populated areas and biggest cities.

The federal requirement, which will go into effect May 1st, applies to able-bodied adults without dependents. These individuals are defined by the federal government are ages 18 to 49 who have no disabilities, no dependents, and no other exceptions. Nearly 1 million residents across the country could lose their benefits over the course of this year.